Today at Berkeley Lab

Biosciences’ Ke Xu Receives New Innovator Award

Ke Xu of the Biosciences Area has received a 2018 NIH Director’s New Innovator Award. These $1.5 million grants aim to catalyze “exceptionally innovative” biomedical research from early career investigators. An assistant professor of chemistry at UC Berkeley, Xu develops new physical and chemical tools to explore biological, chemical, and materials systems at the nanoscale with high resolution and sensitivity. More>

Call for Innovation Awards Nominees — East Bay Economic Development Alliance

The East Bay Economic Development Alliance is seeking nominations for its 2019 annual Innovation Awards. Submit nominations by Oct. 19. Categories include Advanced Manufacturing, Catalyst of the Year, Clean Tech, Education, Engineering & Design, Food, Information and/or Communication Technology, and Life Sciences.

Lab’s Nobel Laureate Perks Featured in Wall Street Journal

Berkeley Lab has a unique honorific for Nobel prize winners, according to the Wall Street Journal. The Lab “has for decades named streets for its winners. The hilly 202-acre facility is dotted with signs for a dozen such stars, including Alvarez Road, Lee Road, McMillan Road, Perlmutter Road and Segrè Road.” Article access requires a subscription, or search via Facebook.

Symons: How Two Nobel Laureates Made Possible Lab’s Laser Accelerator Center

In an email to ATAP Division staff, Associate Lab Director James Symons offered congratulations to this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics winners. Two of the laureates — Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland — developed “chirped pulse amplification,” a method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short pulses, that (among other benefits) made Berkeley Lab’s Laser Accelerator Center possible, he wrote. More>

Lab Connections to 2018 Nobel Prize Winners

The scientific background report accompanying the 2018 Nobel Prize in physics — won by Arthur Ashkin, Gérard Mourou, and Donna Strickland — discussed R&D led by Wim Leemans at the Lab’s BELLA Center on laser-driven plasma accelerators. Also, Frances Arnold of Caltech, one of the winners of this year’s Nobel Prize in chemistry, has connections to the Molecular Foundry, Advanced Light Source, JBEI, and the Biosciences Area. More>

ALS’s Ashley White to Receive MRS Woody White Service Award

Ashley White, Advanced Light Source director of communications, was selected to receive the Materials Research Society’s 2018 Woody White Service Award. The award honors “outstanding individuals who have embodied MRS’s mission, vision, and values for an egalitarian interdisciplinary community advancing materials science and technology to improve the quality of life.”

Markita Landry wins DARPA Young Faculty Award

Markita Landry, a faculty scientist in the Molecular Biophysics and Integrated Bioimaging (MBIB) Division, has received a prestigious two-year Department of Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) Young Faculty Award for her work developing optical probes for neuromodulators such as dopamine. More>

NERSC Recognized by NASA for Contributions to Planck Mission

NERSC staff were recently honored with a NASA Group Achievement Award for their high-performance computing support of the Planck Space Mission, which pushed the boundaries of supercomputing as well as cosmology. More>

APS to Announce Zahid Hussain as Winner of Keithley Award

Advanced Light Source retiree Zahid Hussain has been notified he’ll receive the 2019 Keithley Award for Advances in Measurement Science from the American Physical Society. He has been recognized for his “development of soft X-ray instrumentation leading to significant measurement improvements of angle resolved photoemission spectroscopy and resonant inelastic soft X-ray scattering.”

Lab Teams Are Gordon Bell Prize Finalists

Among the finalists for the prestigious Gordon Bell Prize are two Berkeley Lab teams who are using the “Summit” supercomputer at Oak Ridge National Lab. Prabhat plans to use AI software to predict how extreme weather is likely to change in the future. André Walker-Loud and Pavlos Vranas are developing improved algorithms to help predict the lifetime of neutrons and answer fundamental questions about the universe. More>