Today at Berkeley Lab

First Innovation Grant Awards Announced

Deputy Director Horst Simon has announced the awards for the first Innovation Grant initiative, which funds inventions showing strong commercial promise, yet needing specific development to demonstrate its competitive value. The awards went to Delia Milliron (Materials Sciences) for “Spectrally Selective Dynamic Window Coatings Based on Nanocrystrals,” George Pau, Stefan Finsterle and Eric Sonnenthal (Earth Sciences) for “Parallel Software Framework for TOUGH Suite of Codes,” Michal Commer, Greg Newman and Petr Petrov (Earth Sciences) for “Integrated Geophysical Electromagnetic Seismic Subsurface Imaging,” and Daojing Wang (Life Sciences) and Rafael Gomez-Sjoberg (Engineering) for “iMEA-Chip Prototyping and Optimization.” More>