Posts Tagged ‘Awards’

President Obama Addresses PECASE Winners at Awards Ceremony

Friday, April 18th, 2014

A group of leading researchers were honored on Monday at the White House as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), which is the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers. President Obama addressed the awardees as part of the ceremony. Lab PECASE winners include Daniel Kasen (Nuclear Science), Adam Weber (EETD), Junqiao Wu (Materials Sciences), and Ahmet Yildiz (Physical Biosciences). More>

PBD Director Adam Arkin Wins 2013 Lawrence Award

Thursday, April 17th, 2014

Adam Arkin — director of the Physical Biosciences Division and a leading authority on the evolutionary design principles of cellular networks and populations and their application to systems and synthetic biology — has received a 2013 Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award. The award, the Department of Energy’s highest scientific honor, recognizes Arkin “for his work advancing biological and environmental sciences.” Arkin’s research has focused on developing the physical theory, computational tools and experimental approaches for understanding the cellular processes that are critical to life. The goal is to provide a framework that will facilitate the design and engineering of new functions and behaviors in cells through synthetic and systems biology. More>

BELLA Wins Secretary of Energy’s Achievement Award

Wednesday, April 16th, 2014

BELLA, the Berkeley Laboratory Laser Accelerator Project, the world-record-setting laser system and state-of-the-art scientific facility for the advancement of laser plasma acceleration research, has won a DOE Secretary’s Achievement Award. The project team behind BELLA, which in 2012 delivered a petawatt of power in a pulse just 40 femtoseconds long at a pulse rate of one hertz – one pulse every second, was commended by Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz for “for outstanding ingenuity and exceptional project performance.” On hand to receive the award at the recent DOE Project Management Workshop were Wim Leemans of AFRD, who is BELLA’s Project Director, and Sergio Zimmermann of Engineering, who is the Project Manager (second and first from left, respectively). Also pictured are Suzanne Suskind, FPD; David Klaus, Deputy Under Secretary for Management and Performance; and Ted Lavine, SC Program Manager.

Engineering Magazine Gives EETD’s Selkowitz Excellence Award

Monday, April 7th, 2014

The editors of Engineering News-Record magazine have given Stephen Selkowitz the 2014 Award of Excellence “for relentlessly working to reduce the carbon footprint of buildings and for moving the nation toward better building performance, as well as for being the master of commercializing energy-efficient building technologies and the mastermind of FLEXLAB,” the Facility for Low-Energy eXperimens in Buildings located at Berkeley Lab. More>

Chemical Scientist Rebecca Abergel Named Top 10 Innovator Under 35

Monday, April 7th, 2014

Rebecca Abergel of the Chemical Sciences Division was named one of the top 10 innovators under 35 by MIT Technology Review, French edition. Abergel, who heads the Bioactinide Group, is leading development of a pill to decontaminate people in the event of radiation exposure, such as after a “dirty bomb” attack or an accident at a nuclear power plant. The nominations were open to both French citizens and foreigners residing in France. The winners of the regional competitions automatically become candidates for the global list of top 35 innovators under 35. Go here for more (article is in French).

Budding JGI Entrepreneurs Win Breast Cancer Challenge

Monday, April 7th, 2014

Late last year, Joint Genome Institute workflow manager Gerardo Ramirez (right) and software developer Naveen Chandramohan connected the day before the deadline for the first-ever Breast Cancer Start-up Challenge, a global competition that aims to advance biomedical inventions by launching start-ups. The duo put together a business and commercialization plan for a genome-based diagnostic assay for breast cancer invented by a National Cancer Institute-supported researcher. Their hard work paid off; as one of 10 winning teams, they attended the awards ceremony at the National Institute of Health in February. Learn more about the competition and watch the awards ceremony here.

UC Berkeley’s International House Honors Ashok Gadgil as Alumni of the Year

Friday, April 4th, 2014

Environmental Energy Technologies Division Director Ashok Gadgil has been honored by UC Berkeley’s International House as Alumni of the Year. He shares the recognition with philanthropist Wendy Schmidt. Gadgil lived at International House in the 1970s. “Living at International House is a kind of experimental laboratory where over lunch or doing laundry new relationships and new ideas can spark at any moment. It is a special place with its own remarkable energy.” Gadgil and Schmidt will receive their award at a gala fundraiser on April 10. More>

Quinn Receives Water, Environmental Modeling Forum Life Membership Award

Tuesday, April 1st, 2014

Nigel Quinn, a staff scientist in the Earth Sciences Division, was awarded the Distinguished Life Membership Award for 2014 from the California Water and Environmental Modeling Forum. The award is given to members of long standing who have been members of the organization for over 10 years and have established a distinguished record of service. Quinn was a founding member of CWEMF and led the organization as Convener for three years. He was instrumental in initiating several model user groups, organized a significant number of technical and training workshops and been a strong advocate for CWEMF among state and federal water agencies.

Physical Bioscientist Dominique Loqué Wins ASPB’s Robert Rabson Award

Tuesday, March 18th, 2014

Dominique Loqué — a member of the Physical Biosciences Division who directs the cell wall engineering program for the Joint BioEnergy Institute Feedstocks Division — has been selected as this year’s winner of the Robert Rabson Award by the American Society of Plant Biology. Loqué was recognized for his contributions to bioenergy research through the genetic engineering of healthy plants whose lignocellulosic biomass can more easily be broken down into simple sugars for the production of advanced biofuels. Working with the model plant, Arabidopsis, and using the tools of synthetic biology, Loqué is developing ways to reduce the production of lignin while increasing the yield of fuel sugars in plant cell walls. For more about Loqué’s research, go here.

EETD’s Hanna Breunig Named a Schmidt-MacArthur Fellow

Wednesday, March 12th, 2014

Environmental Energy Technologies Division graduate student researcher and UC Berkeley Civil Engineering student Hanna Breunig has been named one of 16 Schmidt MacArthur Fellows for 2014. The Fellowship program, a joint initiative between the Ellen MacArthur Foundation in the U.K. and the Schmidt Family Foundation in the U.S., is designed for postgraduate students and academics from leading international design, engineering & business schools focusing on sustainability. More>